CBF Panorama
CBF Panorama

Campus Benjamin Franklin - a view

You are here:

  • Home.

Department of Rheumatology, Campus Benjamin Franklin, Charité

The Department of Rheumatology is a part of the Medical Department, Division of Gastroenterology, Infectiology and Rheumatology - Campus Benjamin Franklin (Director - Prof. Dr. med. Britta Siegmund) and is situated in Steglitz, south-western part of Berlin.

In our department, we care for out- and in-patients with all types of rheumatic diseases. Our special area of interest and knowledge are Spondylarthritides. Spondylarthritides are a special group of rheumatic diseases with similar clinical manifestations and common genetic features. Back pain and morning stiffness in back are the main clinical signs of this group of diseases. According to the actual classification, the group of axial Spondylarthritides includes ankylosing spondylitis (Morbus Bechterew) and so-called non-radiographic non-radiographic axial spondyloarthritis (i.e. without typical changes in sacroiliac joints detected by X-Ray), that is understood as the initial stage of ankylosing spondylitis (Morbus Bechterew).

It may take many years until the diagnosis of axial spondyloarthritis could be established. Such a delay may have dramatic consequences for young patients (about 90% of patients are between 20 and 40 years of age at onset of the disease). For this reason we are providing special appointments for patients suspected with axial spondyloarthriti. Do you have chronic back pain? Check online if there is a probability of a rheumatic disease!

We are providing special visiting hours for out-patients with suspicion of Spondylarthritides (ankylosing spondylitis and associated diseases) and care for a significant number of patients within clinical and observational studies. In our interdisciplinary in-patient department we diagnose and treat all sorts of rheumatic diseases.

Contact us to make an appointment for an out-patient consultation or admission, or in case of other questions

Rheumatology team, Campus Benjamin Franklin, Charité

CBF Panorama
CBF Panorama

Campus Benjamin Franklin - ein Überblick

Sie befinden sich hier:

  • Startseite.

Rückenschmerzen, Gelenkschmerzen, Rheuma: fachkundige Diagnose und Behandlung in Berlin

Die Abteilung Rheumatologie ist in der Medizinischen Klinik für Gastroenterologie, Infektiologie und Rheumatologie der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin - Campus Benjamin Franklin (Direktorin - Prof. Dr. med. Britta Siegmund) in Berlin-Steglitz angesiedelt. Leiter der Abteilung ist Prof. Dr. Denis Poddubnyy.

In der Abteilung werden ambulant und stationär Patientinnen und Patienten mit allen rheumatischen Erkrankungen betreut. Dabei stellen die Spondyloarthritiden den Hauptschwerpunkt dar. Die Spondyloarthitiden sind eine Krankheitsgruppe mit ähnlichen klinischen Merkmalen und genetischen Gemeinsamkeiten. Bei den Spondyloarthitiden stehen Schmerzen und Steifigkeit des Rückens im Vordergrund. Zur Gruppe der axialen Spondyloarthitis (axSpA) werden einerseits die ankylosierende Spondylitis (auch als Morbus Bechterew bekannt) als auch die sogenannte nicht-röntgenologische axiale SpA (d.h. ohne röntgenologisch nachweisbare Veränderungen der Sakroiliakalgelenke) gezählt, die auch als Vorstufe des klassischen Morbus Bechterew verstanden wird.

Bis zur Diagnose einer axialen SpA dauert es oft noch mehrere Jahre, was für junge Patienten (über 90% der Patienten sind bei Beginn der Erkrankung zwischen 20 und 40 Jahre alt) dramatische Folgen haben kann. Deswegen bietet die Abteilung für Rheumatologie der Charité am Campus Benjamin Franklin eine spezielle ambulante Sprechstunde bei Verdacht auf das Vorliegen einer entzündlichen Wirbelsäulenerkrankung (axiale Spondyloarthritis, Morbus Bechterew oder verwandte Erkrankungen) an. Leiden Sie unter chronischen Rückenschmerzen? Machen Sie den Test ob eventuell eine entzündliche Ursache dahinter steckt!

Viele Patienten und Patientinnen werden in unserer Abteilung im Rahmen von klinischen und Beobachtungsstudien betreut. Auf der interdisziplinär arbeitenden Station betreuen wir Patienten mit schwerwiegenden und seltenen rheumatischen Erkrankungen.

Bei Fragen steht Ihnen die Abteilung Rheumatologie am Campus Benjamin Franklin gerne zur Verfügung. Nehmen Sie Kontakt per Mail auf.